top of page

Awards to top oarsmen and women

Shanklin Sandown rowing club celebrated their excellent season with their annual awards last weekend. Ethan Walters and Riley Horrix shared the Junior Oarsman Award following their superb year. The pair, who are both on the IW Council Talented Athlete Scheme, won a silver medal at the British Junior Championships and were also part of the crew that won the club’s first Hants and Dorset Fours Championship for 22 years.

Jamie Gamble and George Glenister shared the Oarsman of the Year following their double winning season, not only as part of the successful Fours winning crew with Walters and Horrix but also taking the H&D Junior Pairs title.

Rachael Debenham & Yasmin Wright were the joint Oarswomen of the year after both earning their Novice wins and enjoying a successful first season in the Double scull, whilst Kayleigh Batchelor won junior Oarswomen of the Year after another excellent season both indoors and on the water.

The Most Improved rowers went to Thomas Ashley & Roxy Browne respectively whilst Lyn Wright received the RNLI shield for the club member who made an outstanding contribution to the running of the club.

The club have three crews travelling to Dartmouth for next weekend’s South Coast Championships.