top of page

IOW Indoor Rowing Championships hosted by Shanklin

The Island rowing Forum indoor rowing championships took place at Shanklin Rowing club last weekend and although entries were lower than in previous year’s the level of competition was still high.

The year 10 boys event proved to be the closest race of the day with Shanklin’s Louis Sheasby winning from clubmate’s Carter Horrix in 2nd and Adam Farley 3rd., with Evie Crew, also from Shanklin, taking the top spot in the equivalent girl’s race. Ryde’s Charlie Watts won the year 9 boy’s event producing an excellent score from his race.

The men’s master’s race was won by Shanklin’s Simon Nevitt in a new personal best time from John Langborne and Paul Gamble, whilst the Ladies Masters race saw Julie Clarke of Newport take the win from Shanklin’s Stella Gamble and Jane Denby-Roach in second & third respectively.

The year 12 Boy’s race saw a win for Fred Giemza-Pipe in a new personal best time with Esme Walters also setting a new PB in winning the year 12 girl’s race.

The year 8 girls’ event was an all Shanklin affair which saw Layla Katirewa win from Immy Burfitt & Izzy Bounds.

The other winners on the day were Frances and Bethany Katirewa in the year 13 and year 11 events respectively and Paddy Kearney of Ryde in the open men’s category.